Graduate School

Master’s Award for Professional Excellence

This award recognizes outstanding contributions by a Brown University Master’s student which influence or contribute to the field or profession.

Dr. Lwabanya Marx, Healthcare Leadership '17 receives the Master's Award for Professional Excellence at Commencement.

Such professional development may be accomplished during fieldwork, internship, or capstone experiences, for example. The award and an honorarium are presented at the Graduate School Commencement ceremony in May.

Brown University faculty members and/or supervisors (external or internal to Brown) from fieldwork, internship, or other professional development endeavors may make nominations for this award. Students in terminal master’s degree programs or executive master’s programs and doctoral students enrolled in a secondary master’s program through the Open Graduate Education program are eligible for nomination. 

Nomination Process and Requirements

A nomination letter is required, and should include evidence of influence or contribution to the field or profession. The letter should discuss how the how the student achieved this impact, and how the professional development activity prepares the student for a life of usefulness and reputation. Where applicable, please furnish digital support for the nomination.


The deadline for nominations is April 1, 2024. Nominations should be made through UFunds, found under the Graduate Student and Alumni Awards button.

All nominations are reviewed by the Graduate Council, which also makes final determinations regarding the winner.


Dr. Jonathan R. Everhart posed in a blue suit jacket and white shirtDr. Jonathan R. Everhart ’23 Sc.M.

Read about Jonathan's award and accomplishments

Maheen Mausoof Adamson

Maheen Mausoof Adamson, Healthcare Leadership

Read about Maheen's award and accomplishments

Kelly Ann Doyle, Executive Master, Healthcare Leadership

David Aaron, Executive Master, Cybersecurity

Dr. Lwabanya Marx, Executive Master, Healthcare Leadership 

Joseph Codega, Public Affairs 

Christopher Godfrey, Executive Master, Healthcare Leadership