Graduate School

Previous Fellowship Award Winners

Global Mobility Research Fellowships provide doctoral students with the stipend support and the flexibility to pursue dissertation or pre-dissertation research out of residence.

The fellowship takes the place of a standard teaching assistantship, research assistantship or proctorship. Applications for Global Mobility Research Fellowships can be found on UFunds.


  • Kate Creasey, History
  • Seth Katyayni, Anthropology


  • Alejandra Irene Cueto Piazza, Sociology
  • Henrique Moitin De Almeida Pita Barros, Economics
  • Katie Duarte, Sociology
  • Aarushi Kalra, Economics
  • Elizabeth Nielsen, History
  • Yunyu Shu, Economics
  • Pasqual Solass, German Studies
  • Jiayue Zhang, Economics
  • Yekai (Kyle) Zhang, History


  • Hsu Huang, Sociology
  • Madison Paulk, Anthropology
  • Daiana Rivas-Tello, Anthropology
  • Devon Newhouse, History
  • Tara Wheelwright, Slavic Studies


  • Jocelyn Bell, Sociology
  • Ciprian Buzila, History of Art & Architecture
  • Alexsandro Menez, Portuguese & Brazilian Studies
  • Maor Milgrom, Economics
  • Sherry Pan, Religious Studies
  • Dillon Webster, History
  • Keenan Wilder, Sociology


  • Amanda Ball, Sociology
  • Yu-Cheng Shih, History
  • Bishnu Thapa, Comparative Literature
  • Baoli Yang, Comparative Literature

Eight doctoral students were awarded Global Mobility Research Fellowships for the 2019-20 academic year:

  • Laura Chilson-Parks, History of Art and Architecture
  • Lubabah Chowdhury, English
  • Danielle Falzon, Sociology
  • Julia Hurley, Archaeology and the Ancient World
  • Rehan Jamil, Political Science
  • Mayer Juni, History
  • Tommaso Pepe, Italian Studies
  • Ieva Zumbyte, Sociology

Recipients of the fellowships traveled all over the world, to locations such as England, France, India, Mexico, and Bangladesh, to further develop their research. Global Mobility Fellows pursued a wide range of important and fascinating topics, such as climate change adaptation in low lying parts of Asia, food production and consumption in Iron Age and Roman-period Britain, Caribbean women writers’ representations of the relationship between Afro-Caribbean and Indo-Caribbean peoples, non-discretionary social welfare programs in the global south, and much more.

Winners 2018-2019Twelve doctoral students were awarded Global Mobility Research Fellowships for the 2018-19 academic year and 2019 summer:

  • Koen Bulckens, History of Art and Architecture
  • Edwige Crucifix, Comparative Literature
  • Laura Garbes, Sociology
  • Samuel Goldstein, Religious Studies
  • Diego Ramos Toro, Economics
  • Alejandra Roche Recinos, Anthropology
  • Jamie Corbett, Ethnomusicology
  • Suvaid Yaseen Ahanger, History
  • Ashleigh LoVette, Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
  • Erika Valdivieso, Classics
  • Sanne Verschuren, Political Science
  • Melanie White, Africana Studies

    Fellowship awardees, hailing from various graduate programs, traveled to locations in Europe, Asia, Africa, and South America to significantly advance their research. Fellows studied a wide range of subjects, such as the works of artist Peter Paul Rubens, female-authored fiction from the French colonies of the Maghreb (Algeria, Tunisia, Morocco), the rationales of nations for weapons procurement, the resilience of girls and young women in environments of sustained HIV risk, and much more.

    Felipe Brugues, Lauren Deal, Javier Fernandez Galeano, and Daniel McDonaldTen doctoral students from across academic disciplines were selected as 2017-18 Global Mobility Research Fellows. Fellows embarked on journeys, for one semester or over the summer, to various locations within Europe, South America, and Asia, to advance their pre-dissertation and dissertation research:

    • Aimee Bourassa, Political Science
    • Felipe Brugues, Economics
    • Yifeng Cai, Anthropology
    • Violet Cavicchi, Ethnomusicology
    • Lauren Deal, Anthropology
    • Javier Fernandez Galeano, History
    • Daniel McDonald, History
    • Arjee Restar, Behavioral and Social Health Sciences
    • John Smith, History
    • Haiwang Yong, Chemistry